4 Important Facts about Switzerland

In Europe, there are 44 countries – 51 if you include the ones that are in both Europe and Asia, like Turkey and Russia. Switzerland is one of the most widely known out of all the 44. And there is a good reason for it.

Switzerland is at the centre of Europe, and it is a popular destination for Europeans and international travellers either for a short trip or to move there permanently.

If you are looking for your next trip and the name of Switzerland comes to mind, it is worth learning some important information and fun facts about it before arranging everything. But you are being warned that you will probably have the urge to book your flight to Switzerland once you reach the end of this article!

  1. Is Switzerland a big country?

No. Switzerland is a small country, with an area of just over 40,000 square kilometres. There is still a plethora of fun activities to do and spectacular things to see there. You will definitely need a car to get you from your hotel to one of the many museums, to mediaeval quarters or to a lake nearby. You can book your car from Enjoy Travel so that you don’t have to worry about losing precious time and money by trying to figure out ways to get to your destination, instead of exploring the country.

  1. What is the capital of Switzerland?

The largest and most famous city in Switzerland is Zurich. However, Zurich is not the capital of Switzerland. This is because the Swiss did not want to follow the rule that the largest city of a country should have all the power and become the capital. So, instead of Zurich, they chose a little town called Bern as the capital of Switzerland. It is worth mentioning that Bern is the fifth largest city in the country.

  1. What is the currency and the official language of Switzerland?

Although Switzerland is in Europe, it is not a member of the European Union, and Euro is not the currency used in Switzerland. People there use a currency named swiss franc, CHF. Its value is pretty close to euro. Swiss franc is also used in Liechtenstein.

There are four national languages in Switzerland; German, French, Italian and Romansh. The most widely spoken language in Switzerland is German while the least spoken language is Romansh. Although English is not included in the official languages of the country, you will hear a lot of English being spoken, and also there is the option of receiving official documents in English.

  1. What do we mean when we say that Switzerland is neutral?

Switzerland is neutral because it does not take sides and it does not participate in political conflicts. This is recognised by the whole Europe as they have all agreed and signed about the everlasting neutral stance of Switzerland. Switzerland is not a member of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO) or the European Union.

Article by Born Realist